Training books: how many is enough?

Just my thought for today:

Perhaps our greatest Fear is not that we might never find love, but that we will. For once we discover that we are loved, we will have to open our hearts and find a way within ourselves to love them back.

Pretty scary!

Do you like to read? Perhaps training books, horse magazines, or even watch horse videos?

I do to.  For more than the last half of a century, I have been reading some sort of horse books.
Polly's Oats Roberta Edstrom most favorite book

In fact, I have always loved reading anything about horses.  My first horse book, which I still have in safe keeping, was a book called, Polly’s Oats.

It was copyrighted in 1951 and I have kept it with me on all of my travels. It is a story of an outcast, unloved, unwanted that had a great heart.   It always reminds me that some of the greatest miracles happen in the most unexpected ways.

As you can see  the book  is a little worse for wear.

Right now, I am reading a book by Frank Bell: The horse Whisperer called The horses that touched my heart. The book was a gift from a good Facebook friend that thought I might enjoy it.   I have to admit, when I get to the end of a chapter, I want to see what is going to happen next.

I think that everyone takes a turn in their life when they want to just know more about the BIG stuff in our lives. Knowing more on who they really are would be one of the BIG ones.

The Big stuff is when  a person starts really looking at their dreams, their life hopes, their love for those around them, their life.   Not a look at regrets but a point where they just want to really start to learn who what they are made of and why they are here.

For some this comes earlier than others, however for me, it has come a lot later.    After all, who has time to look at themselves when taking care of a family, raising children and a barn full of horses.

My sister asked me, not to long ago: How many books do you need to read before you get it?    Now, after endless books, and hours of study, asking questions and taking a close look at myself, I think I am at a point that  could possible be considered the 1 st grade.

Let me show you the pile of books on my night table.

Books on my deskJust to let you know, I am in the middle of reading and studying all of them some I am even on my second reading.

This is not all of them, just the current ones but every new turn of the page seems to bring me into a new reality of who really is in my heart and for some reason it always seems to surprise me.

It is surprising to find out that I am far more capable than I think I am. It is surprised me when I learned that although I love to be spoiled and have others look after me, I can do a far better job by myself.

It surprised me when I learned that I am the only person that really knows me and really wants even more than what is  best for me. It even surprised me when I learned that it was possible for me to learn how to love myself.

I have hit the point that they call: I am absolutely sure, beyond being positive, with out any doubts,  that I know, that I don’t know.

A close friend recently told me, “If you know that and can admit that you are there, you are at the point of wisdom.

After what already seems like a long journey, I still have a heart full of dreams left to bring into reality and some  fears left to override due to bad thinking habits that I need to clear the cob webs out of the way.

I just wanted to let you know, that no matter where you are in this life, what dreams you may have, no matter what your age, no matter what has happened in the past, you are never truly alone on this journey.  You will always have you and that is far more than enough. It is far more than most of us will ever discover. The best part is, that once you realize that one thing, you can never fail at anything ever again.

Your answer, the one that you have been  seeking, may just be in the very  next spot that you look so just make sure that you keep on looking.

Life is the ultimate treasure hunt where we get to discover the greatest treasure to all mankind:                   …….    Our self!

and you can quote me on that.

Just livin’ for the WHINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNY!!

Daily Oats: Food for the Horse lover’s soul

Love Roberta

Roberta Edstrom
CEO

Knot-A-Tail Unequaled treasures for the horse lovers in your life

Visit Roberta on Facebook

Totally just for fun…. a Facebook quiz: (PS they absolutely  assured me it was working now)
“How horse crazy are you?

Published in: on July 5, 2010 at 9:44 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyoats.wordpress.com/2010/07/05/training-books-how-many-is-enough/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So very true!

    Speaking of books have you read Beautiful Jim Key the Lost History of a Horse and a Man by Mim Rivas?

    A wonderful read through history and one amazing horse and man.

    Marge

    • How horse crazy are you: Since my horse passes away Jan,09, all I think about , is owning another horse, I eat sleep and think all day about owning another horse, until reality sets in and I realize I can’t afford one.

      • If you set your mind to it at 100%, I know that you will find a way. I can not help but wonder, what is stopping you Whinnys Roberta

  2. The Chinese believe that there is an invisible red thread that connects people at birth to the people who they are destined to meet later on in life. I am so glad that there was a thread to your column. I laugh. I cry. I receive such spiritual uplift.

    I came to adopt my first daughter from China late in life – I was 54. Even at 22 months, she was obsessed with horses. We moved to Texas three years ago, and now own three horses. And 65 year old Ma (which is Chinese for both horse and mama is learning to ride and is also obsessed with horses).

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    • How amazing you are for adopting so late in life. What purpose you life must have taken that day. My thoughts will be with you today. Whinny’s Roberta

  3. right on Roberta – I’m gettin’ there at 67
    love you
    Nancy

  4. Thanks!
    There’s only one Horse Training book that I’m convinced I couldn’t live without. It is Bill Dorrance’s “True Horsemanship Through Feel”.


Leave a Reply

