Which riding style or equestrian discipline is right for you?

I wonder if I counted just how many different riding discipline there actually are in the world of horses how many I would find that I don’t even know about.  There certainly are lots  riding disciplines to choose from Dressage, Show Jumping, Cross-Country, Eventing, Rodeo and Barrel Racing through to Hacking, Trail Riding, Hunter,  Western Riding, competitive trail riding to my favorite, pleasure driving.   Loads of horse loving enthusiast often  try a variety of them while  others seem to endless excel in just  one or two.  Such as nine-time FEI World Cup Dressage Champion and multiple Dressage Olympic Gold medalist Anky Van Grunsvan  who now loves to ride and show reining horse.

I believe there is a reason that they have named it riding “Disciplines.”

We all train both ourselves and our horses as far as we want to go  in our life from the point of just being able to ride down a trail or become a world champion.

Discipline

I was given this quote the other day by a very dear freind.

“Disciple is the difference between what we want right now and what we want most in our life.”

(In fact I have it now on my desk in my inspirational spiral notebook and I have not changed it all week.)

Another words it is the difference between that ice cream and my goal weight,  the difference between seeing the new Karate kid and  finishing a new campaign to increase sales on the Knot-A-Tail web site, or even going out to dinner and visiting with my buddy Carl, or completing the next chapter in learning CSS programing so I can improve our site for our customers.

Not unlike many others, there are many things in my life that I have wanted to achieve but I always seem to find a way to stick them in the back stall of my barn where no one every cleans anymore.

You know which one I am talking about, don’t pretend you don’t.

The one where all the tack that needs repair is hanging, that last warn-out clippers are  that needs to be sharpened and clean is just sitting on a shelf,  where last year’s horse blankets that the horse ripped last winter are laying on the floor, Ya  that stall.  Everyone has one.

Maybe it also has the book you have always wanted to write, that class you wanted to take, school you want to finish, the degree you wanted to earn, the perfect job you have always dreamed about or  that business idea that has been floating around in you head  for the last few years but you have not taken that first step forward to those GREAT true hearts desires.  The true “GREATS” of our lives.

Just like riding, Self discipline is a skill and once you get to grips with it, it can alter  your life.  Thank about it, here is what you can gain just by applying some “riding” disciples to your own life. Imagine if you harnessed this power to change different aspects of your life.

You could have the power of all the horse you have dreamed about riding.

  • increased self-value and self esteem
  • A better life for you and your family
  • hope
  • the ” buck all the want  critter, I am going to ride you all the way”  ride of your life  in  reaching  all of your  life’s ”  TO THE STARS” dream goals

What good would self discipline have in your life?

What if you could practice self discipline in everything you do? How would your life change? Would it change? Think of these questions for a moment.

Some of the areas in your life you could change might be;

  • The amount of time spent with the kids, besides just “in the barn time”
  • Your weight
  • Your fitness
  • The tidiness of your office and update more than just the horse record
  • The cleanliness of your house and not just the barn.
  • Fixing all the broken things in your house  and barn (fix that shelf once and for all)
  • The amount of time spent watching TV
  • Watching what you eat
  • Fasting for one day per week
  • Having a cold shower every morning
  • Get your finances sorted out
  • Write those letters you’ve been meaning to write
  • Make the phone calls you’ve been meaning to make
  • Organize your life
  • Getting up early to be thankful of all the things you have
  • Ride past the BUCK

Ok, all you horse lovers.  I beleive we are the best of the best with HUGE hearts and endless dreams.
So, right now,  Yes right now is the time to SADDLE-UP and start riding the life you have always dreamed.

And I am here to keep reminding you of that.

So cinch-up tight, get your riding boots on, add a pair of spurs if you need to and let’s get going.
Pick, just one thing today to apply a  disciple to and keep riding that horse until the damn thing stops BUCKIN’!
Then head out to the corral and grab another.

After all, this is the FUN part of life,

Ridin’ past all  the BUCKS’,   then our life truly begins.

Most important, remember to share the whinny besides with just the herd of horses y0u own, there is an infinite supply.
……………………………..Change a life and “Share “ the Whinny!

I’m just livin’ for the WHINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNY!!

Daily Oats: Food for the Horse lover’s soul

Love Roberta

Roberta Edstrom
CEO

Knot-A-Tail Unequaled treasures for the horse lovers in your life

Knot-A-Tail’s Father’s day Celebration : with great prizes

Visit Roberta on Facebook

Totally just for fun…. a Facebook quiz:
“How horse crazy are you?

Published in: on June 15, 2010 at 6:35 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyoats.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/which-riding-style-or-equestrian-discipline-is-right-for-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love it!

    Marge

  2. I love it too, Roberta, and often send friends a link to your wonderful messages. May I borrow them from time to time to publish on my own blog? With full credit, of course, and a link to your site? I would be honored. Thanks for such good life lessons.

    • I would love it if you placed some of my blogs on your sites. Thank you for sharing them with others. That is just what I was hoping people with do with them: Share

      Whinny’s Roberta

  3. I’m riding a new discipline now since I’ve had the new pacemaker put in. Now its a matter of learning how to ride the tempo of the trot, loop and canter all over again. I’m sure I’ll be picking myself up from time to time and starting over but thats all part of it right?


Leave a Reply

