Dancing with horses

Daily Oats: Food for the horse lovers soul

Within the days of my youth, I would spend hours in the barn just listening. Every time when I would feel lonely or lost, I would head to the barn.

Behind the silence of the closed barn doors, was music that captured my heart and soul. Music designed by the beat of  hoof beat on the wooden planks on the stall floor, the sound of hay being pulled  out of a  hay feeder, the gentle swish of a long tail, the sound of a heavy breath.    I would try to pause as long as I could to hear the sound of the horses enjoying every morsel of oats as the muzzled  the around bottom of the bucket.

It was within the creation of the symphony “Dancing  with Horses” that made the troubles of the world  just melt away, even if it was for only a few moments. The music of the horse, allows the world to stop. The music gave  me moments to  connect with my  heart and soul.

It is called unconditional love. It is funny,  even when a horse is  just standing there eating, or just swishing their tails how their love can bring such piece to my  heart.

What I learned in my youth, I still find great comfort today  as an adult. When I find myself in those moments of such loneliness or despair, their is nothing better than a trip to the barn.  I still find  a few moments of complete solitude with my horses  that allows me to be totally me. But what I realized is those moments of great despair only occur when I am not returning that same unconditional love to those around me.

It is when I forget to show gratitude for the countess blessing in my life, that devastating loneliness and desperation appear and fill me to the such dept that I can not seem to cope with  my world.  I still love the fact I can go to listen to the music in the barn, hug a horse and get lost for a few moments. However, the trouble with the horse fix, is that sooner or later, I have to return to deal with the same situation before I escaped to listen to what is   music to my ears

I do not want to find myself only happy when I am out in the barn. In my life, I want more. I want more of what truly matters. Along the way, someone gave to me a gratitude rock . You might have heard of them. Just a small, flat, round rock that you stick in your pocket. Then every time you put your hand in your pocket, you start  counting  the blessings in your life. It allows the word gratitude to sink into your mind and deep into your soul.

At my worst moments, I had to make a blessing list and kept it on the frig. I would read it every time I opened the refrigerator door. Here is a sad fact, but so true of many of us: I learned more about gratitude for my life, after my husbands death than every before.

I no longer want to wait till after some tragic event occurs in m life to show those around me the blessing they are to me. I want to offer them whenever they are around me the Symphony of the “Dancing with Horses: a symphony for life. I want to make sure that they know how much they capture my soul. I want to make sure they know, they are my bucket of oats in my  life.

For today, I will share the music “Dancing with horses” and bring with me the same peace that lives within a horse’s  unconditional love to all those that cross my path.

I will “be the Gratitude “to all the Whinnies that capture my heart.

No matter what, whinny with all your heart.
Change your life and just “BECOME”  the whinny! Greet the world like your horse greets you, as if there is no tomorrow.

Now, let me hear it, WHINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNY!!

Daily Oats: Food for the Horse lover’s soul

I love you, Roberta

Roberta Edstrom
CEO
Knot-A-Tail

Sharing the connection to you with our authentic Cowboy horse hair gear and Cowgirl jewelry.

Please join me on Facebook. We certainly are not the largest horse group on Facebook, but I guarantee we have the most horse giggles around.

Visit Roberta on Facebook

Totally just for fun…. a Facebook quiz:
“How horse crazy are you?

Cowgirl’s standing  together for those in need.  Leave your comments, offer support, advice, help and prayer creating  companionship and love  for other cowgirls that just need a little help.     Join us on the  Facebook group A Cowgirl’s Prayer

Published in: on February 7, 2010 at 1:51 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyoats.wordpress.com/2010/02/07/dancing-with-horses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your story is similar to my own. Thank you for the reminder of the healing power of gratitude. Thank you for sharing. Thank you for being you.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Knotatail, Lacy Paloman. Lacy Paloman said: Dancing with horses « DailyOats's Blog http://bit.ly/aa6O4i […]


Leave a Reply

