Just be the Whinny!

Daily Oats: Food for the horse lovers soul

“We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.” Quote for the new year.

These pages are blank this morning.  Clean, fresh, wonderfully beautiful.  I just can not seem to help myself, I am a little excited about the idea of another chance to change a few pieces within my life into more of my own dream design. A new beginning that I get to choose what my life looks like for me.

How beautiful.  Today is the day that I get to design a plan that will work to change parts of  my life.   Just a few things that need some commitment, courage, and a steady hand.

After  all, that is how we train our horses.   How many hours have we committed to making sure that they have a successful, useful life.    A horse person will work endless hours on the correct discipline to bring out  a horse’s natural talents.  They will commit to  making sure they get the right amount of exercise, the right food, the best farrier, the best trainers, vitamins, minerals, blankets, bits, tack, saddle, and the list goes on,   yet we forget to do the very same things for ourselves.

At times, my horse’s had more winter clothes than I did, and my warmest clothes were purchased so I could stay out in the barn longer.   I love my horses, but the truest love starts with loving ourselves.

For this upcoming year, I want to make that a priority  in my life, not having warmer clothes that is , but just remembering that in order to love every thing  around me to the fullest, I need to start with total love and acceptance for myself.

Most people would think that this kind of  “me first” is selfish, but in reality it is not.   To love yourself and completely accept yourself, overcomes the fear of never being enough.   How wonderful would it feel to never say,  think or experience  those words again ” I am not enough”.

Let me make this clear as possible: I am enough and so are you!

Just for today, try this one on for size and see if it resonates  with your soul.  “I am enough” starts with you completely accepting yourself and allowing  yourself to love you just the way you are.

You can do it.  Anyone who can handle a 1200 pound horse and run with the wind, to me, is fearless.    A horse person is beyond courageous.   Each time you ride, you put your entire life in your ability to connect with your horse.  That in itself is a miracle.

Life is the same way, and the courage to be yourself is in your ability to connect with your own  soul.   Remember, just be the whinny, and you will have the entire world at your feet.

And always remember, I beleive in you.

Life is simple if you remember to just be the whinny: Greet the world like your horse greets you, now just beleive in yourself as much as you believe in your horse.

No matter where you are right at  this minute, just WHINNY as loud as you  can and greet this world  and the new year like never before!!

Just be the WHINNY!

Daily Oats: Food for the Horse lover’s soul

To help with your finances, we created a Tack Swap on Knot-A-Tail.
Knot-A-Tail Tack Swap
Sell your personal horse related items for FREE!

Love Roberta

Roberta Edstrom
CEO
Knot-A-Tail
Authentic Cowboy Horse hair gear and Cowgirl Jewelry

Published in: on January 1, 2010 at 12:59 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyoats.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/happy-new-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for that perspective. I too need reminders to take care of my self and remember that I’m enough , right here , right now, just like my horse thinks of me when I with her.
    I would like to talk to you about similar paths we are on and how we might explore mutual support
    Interested?
    Brian

  2. I am just like the creature God created called the Horse. I can never get enough of my DAILY OATS!!!!
    LOVE TO YOU MY FRIEND ROBERTA!!!

  3. Took me time to read all the comments, but I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! It’s always nice when you can not only be informed, but also entertained! I’m sure you had fun writing thx


Leave a Reply

