The true beauty of the horse

Daily Oats: Food for the horse lover’s soul

The first time that I read this quote, I printed it and posted it my barn and in my office.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine as children do. It’s not just in some of us; it is in everyone. And as we let our own lights shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Personally, I do not feel that I have lived up to all that this quote requires me to Cowgirl-up to. It is hard for me to believe sometimes that I can make a difference it this world, and especially in the horse community.

But as I read your posts, and hear your words, truth is that you inspire me to be more.  The reality is that the kindness that comes through  the love of a horse, has a tendency to make each one of us more human than what we would be without them.  The connection that is create through the love of a horse, becomes an instant bond between their owners.

When some of you feel that you can no longer love another human, you head for the barn and let  your horse’s love refresh your soul.   What great strength and courage that takes when so many others  just stop living.  Even when sometimes the best part of your day might be shoveling crap out a stall and still we  love it.

We all ask, Who am I,  but the reality is ” Who am I not”  but brilliant.

For  today, just remember your brilliance and you call me out when I am not remembering mine.    For in my book, anyone who can see the true beauty of a horse, is already brilliant and more than capable of loving everyone around them, sometimes we just forget that part of life.  After all that is the true brilliance of the horse, is there  endless ability to love us.

Remember, just be the whinny

Daily Oats: Food for the Horse lover’s soul

Roberta Edstrom

Don’t miss out on any of our Daily inspirations, Join today, and get these sent directly to your email. You won’t want to miss one day.

CEO Knot-A-Tail
Authentic Cowboy Horse hair gear and Cowgirl Jewelry

Published in: on December 18, 2009 at 4:42 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dailyoats.wordpress.com/2009/12/18/199/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. As I reflect on all that has happened this year, (of my unemployment status) I’ve learned that making a living is NOT the same as making a life.
    I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn.
    The love of the horses opens my heart, and I’m learning to shine again!


Leave a Reply

